Common Law Section

Common Law Section News
Contact Information
Fauteux Hall
57 Louis Pasteur St
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5

General Information:
(613) 562-5794
(613) 562-5124


(613) 562-5800 ext.3270
(613) 562-5124

Common Law’s 2011 Promotions and Tenure Announcement

Effective May 1, 2011, Professor John Currie has been promoted to Full Professor, Prof. Debra Steger has been promoted to Full Professor with tenure, Prof. Pierre Foucher received tenure and Professors Lynda Collins and Ravi Malhotra have both been promoted to Associate Professor with automatic tenure.

john_currie.jpgProf. Currie’s recent scholarly work has focused mainly on the interaction of international and domestic (including Canadian) law, and in particular on recent approaches taken by the Supreme Court of Canada to the interpretation and application of international law in its decisions. His work in this area has appeared in the Canadian Yearbook of International Law, the Supreme Court Law Review, and a number of edited collections published in Canada, the United Kingdom, France and the United States. He is also currently working (along with three colleagues) on a two-year, SSHRC-funded research project on amendments to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court adopted at the 2010 Kampala Review Conference (which he attended as a member of the Canadian delegation). Upcoming projects include a second edition of his teaching text International Law: Doctrine, Practice and Theory (forthcoming 2012, with Professor Forcese and two other colleagues) and a third edition of his treatise Public International Law (forthcoming 2013). Prof. Currie has also recently assumed the position of Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Yearbook of International Law.

In addition to teaching public international law, international legal regulation of the use of force, the law of international armed conflict, the law of torts, and legal writing, Prof. Currie is active in University governance, sitting as a member of both the Senate and Board of Governors of the University of Ottawa and chairing the University’s Senate Appeals Committee. He also continues to supervise graduate students, as a member of the University’s Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and as Adjunct Research Professor in the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University, and to teach international law at the Canadian Foreign Service Institute.

dsteger.jpgProf. Debra Steger is a Senior Fellow with the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), Waterloo; Member, Program Advisory Committee, Canadian Ditchley Foundation; co-leader with Prof. Jeremy de Beer of the Canada-EU Trade Environment Technology Exchange project, funded by the European Commission, relating to the Canada-EU negotiations toward a Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement; and co-leader with Prof. de Beer of EDGE Network Global Economic Governance Projects on the future of the WTO and the WIPO development agenda.   Prof. Steger is Editor of Redesigning the World Trade Organization for the Twenty-first Century (Wilfrid Laurier University Press, International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), 2010).  She also established the “Arbois Group” of Geneva Ambassadors to the WTO and academics which meets outside Geneva to discuss issues related to The Future of the WTO

This past summer, Prof. Steger presented a summer course at The Hague Academy of International Law comparing dispute settlement under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement with investor state arbitration under international investment treaties in The Hague, Netherlands.   She is currently, working on two book projects:  A Commentary on the WTO Subsidies and Countervailing Measures Agreement, as part of a WTO series for Oxford University Press, and a book on the lessons from the history of the trading system co-authored with Ambassador Julio Lacarte. 

Foucher.jpgProf. Pierre Foucher holds a joint appointment with Common Law and Civil Law.  He teaches Introduction to Public Law (Civil Law Section), Language Rights Litigation, and language rights sessions in constitutional law courses.  During the past year, Prof. Foucher presented papers at international law conferences in Sudbury, Ontario in language and territory; in Bloemfontein, South Africa on the right to autonomy in linguistic matters; and in Reno, Nevada on language and culture in Canadian courts.  Prof. Foucher also received a research grant of $5000 from the Law Foundation of Ontario and $5000 from the Foundation for Legal Research for projects on Language Rights.  He is currently on the organizing committee for a conference being held at the Faculty of Law in November 2011 which will celebrate the 25th anniversary of the French Language Services Act of Ontario.

lynda collins.jpgProf. Lynda Collins was seconded half-time to the uOttawa-Ecojustice Environmental Law Clinic this past year where she has been involved in three toxic tort suits, ranging from small claims court to the Supreme Court of Canada.  She is also in the process of co-authoring the first dedicated Canadian treatise on the law and policy of toxic torts along with Prof. Heather McLeod-Kilmurray

ravi_malhotra.jpgProf. Ravi Malhotra recently presented his research on young adults with disabilities at the Dayton College of Law in Dayton, Ohio and at Gonzaga School of Law in Spokane, Washington. He will be a keynote speaker at the Minnesota Symposium on Disability Studies at the University of Minnesota.  During the past year, Prof. Malhotra chaired the Equity Committee and became co-advisor of the Ottawa Law Review with Prof. Mark Power.

Prof. Malhotra has an article on Hubert Harrison, African American intellectual of the early 20th century, forthcoming in the Columbia Journal of Race and Law.  He also has a piece with alumna Robin Hansen (’05) of the College of Law, University of Saskatchewan  on Art. 24 of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities forthcoming in the Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice.

Congratulations to Professors Currie, Steger, Foucher, Collins and Malhotra!

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts.
Last updated: 2009.12.15